The Tampa Bay Business Journal has named 27 honorees for the 2019 BusinessWoman of the Year awards.

In addition, TBBJ named a Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and the winner of the Angie Joseph Excellence in Mentorship Award, recognizing a woman who has helped mentor and guide other individuals in their professional careers.

BusinessWoman of the Year honors Tampa Bay’s most powerful and influential businesswomen. These women are from a variety of industries and professions who have made a difference in their communities and blazed a trail for others to follow.

This is the 16th year for BusinessWoman of the Year. In years’ past, the TBBJ has recognized honorees based on industry categories. However, this will be the second year in a row when all honorees will be recognized and no category winners will be named. Previous honorees include Dr. Pallavi Patel, Rhea Law, Rita Lowman, Renee Vaughn and Susan Blackburn.

A panel of judges selected this year’s slate of honorees from hundreds of nominations. Criteria included business success, community involvement, leadership ability and influence on the region. More than 300 were nominated and over 120 applications were successfully submitted.

Honorees will be recognized at an awards gala on Sept. 13 at the Tampa Marriott Water Street and will be profiled in a special TBBJ section.

Originally posted on Tampa Bay Business Journal